Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

2021.1.22 + 2020.3.19 huge performance issues affecting mac

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by jason_yak, Sep 30, 2021.

  1. jason_yak

    jason_yak

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Posts:
    548
    Hi there,

    Just letting the team know we're seeing massive performance issues in v2021.1.22, we upgraded only from 2021.1.18 and it seems like the GPU is super choppy. If we check an FPS read out it seems like everything is fine, but it's clearly not so we're assuming it's a GPU issue.

    We tested this out by zero changes to our project, cleared the library, opened it back up in 2021.1.18, no performance issues. Open it back up with 2021.1.22 and it's is super choppy, barely able to render even in the editor without hitting play. It's too hard for us to submit a bug report, some details:
    - running on macOS 11.4 and 11.5.2, multiple machines behave consistently and point the finger at 2021.1.22
    - we're using URP and Shader Graph for all of our shaders

    Let me know if you need any other info, but it doesn't seem very hard to replicate. Performance is so bad.

    Thanks,

    Jason
     
    manking99, Ijin and horaci like this.
  2. jason_yak

    jason_yak

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Posts:
    548
    We can't see any errors in the console and nothing obvious to point the finger at.
     
  3. NUTRACTOR

    NUTRACTOR

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I've updated to 2021.123, but it's the same and the editor is slow.
     
  4. argh6543

    argh6543

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Posts:
    49
    Same here. Works great in 2021.1.21f1 but both .22f1 and and .23f1 are super choppy.
    Also MacOS, but 11.6 in my case. Built-in render pipeline. 2018 MacBook x86.
     
  5. nico_st_29

    nico_st_29

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Posts:
    69
    I believe you guys are having the same issue as me. It seems to come from something that was introduced from those versions:
    - 2021.1.22f1
    - 2020.3.19f1

    I'm currently downloading 2021.2.0b14 as the below issue tracker seems to imply that it got fixed in that version. I'll update you here.

    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...-when-changing-gameobject-transforms-position

    If you could upvote the issue that might speed up Unity's response.
     
    Ijin and Heckmouse like this.
  6. Heckmouse

    Heckmouse

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    Thank you for posting this. I'm seeing this as well and it had me worried.
     
  7. nico_st_29

    nico_st_29

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Posts:
    69
    2021.2.0b14 seems to be alright FYI. I'm waiting for the fix to be implemented 2020.3.X as most of my assets are not compatible with the TECH stream just yet.

    Don't forget to VOTE on the issue tracker if you can guys.
     
  8. matt_caleigo

    matt_caleigo

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having the same issue. Have tried on both my 2017 MBP and my M1 Mac mini.
    Tested both 2021.1.23f1 and 2021.2.0b14, same issue in both.

    For me it's so bad that Unity is basically unusable.
     
    nico_st_29 likes this.
  9. nico_st_29

    nico_st_29

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Posts:
    69
    Same here

    If you check the below link, you can see that today they've finalized the bug fix for 2022.1 but they're still at the same stage for 2020.3 (LTS) unfortunately:

    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...-when-changing-gameobject-transforms-position

    Can anyone at Unity give us an update on this?
     
  10. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    The fix has been implemented for both 2021.1 and 2020.3 and it's now at a code review stage.
     
    horaci, nico_st_29 and jason_yak like this.
  11. francismoy

    francismoy

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    46
    Just out of curiosity: how long does it take on average from code review stage to actual delivery? I've just upgraded from 2019.4.30f1 to 2020.3.19f1 on my Mac OS (Big Sur) and it's really difficult to iterate and test stuff when the performance is so bad in the editor Play Mode...
     
  12. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    It usually takes about a week for the change to land. And then 2020.3 releases come out every two weeks.

    I'd suggest for now downgrading to 2020.3.17f1 to unblock yourself until we have the fix in.
     
    francismoy likes this.
  13. nico_st_29

    nico_st_29

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Posts:
    69
    Thanks for the update: can't this simply be pushed individually as a hot fix (2020.3.19f2) instead of as being pushed as part of the 2020.3.20f1 release?
     
    francismoy likes this.
  14. MichaelHeiml82

    MichaelHeiml82

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    30
  15. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
  16. MichaelHeiml82

    MichaelHeiml82

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    30
    Thanks. Any chance you could look into it anyways? I found a way to reproduce the issue and file a bug here (case 1371020)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2021
  17. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    It's not my area (I don't really work with graphics) so I won't be taking a look at it personally but we will take a look. Thanks for the report.
     
  18. mgruv

    mgruv

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Wow, this is still not fixed in 2021.1.24. Is everyone using the Mac version experiencing this huge pause every second when running or is it just happening on certain machines?
     
    TV4Fun and Lars-Steenhoff like this.
  19. Tom163

    Tom163

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    I've been experiencing the same issue. FPS in Stats says I should get 30-60 FPS, but what I see in the editor window, both in edit and in play mode, looks more like 2-10 FPS. It's unusable.

    This is a 27" iMac, using 2021.2b14 though I've had the issue with the latest 2021.1 as well.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2021
  20. nico_st_29

    nico_st_29

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Posts:
    69
    Hi @Tautvydas-Zilys - is the 2020.3.20f1 coming in later today by any chance?
     
  21. francismoy

    francismoy

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    46
    I've just installed it through the Hub, but the error persists. Anyway, I guess this is expected as the fix is still in review for 2020.3.X. Guess we'll have to wait a bit longer...
     
  22. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    Looks like it was released a few hours ago.
     
  23. francismoy

    francismoy

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    46
    I understand your frustration as I'm also experiencing this problem, but to be fair, the workaround suggested by @Tautvydas-Zilys of moving back to 2020.3.17 works and is acceptable for probably most users while the fix comes. I also understand that the management of such a giant software like Unity and the prioritization of tasks and bugs to solve must be really tough.
     
  24. Tom163

    Tom163

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    The problem appears to be solved or at least massively reduced in 2021.2b15
     
  25. Luixel

    Luixel

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I've just installed 2020.3.20f1 and still getting massive lag and stuttering in the editor. It also happens on 2020.3.19f1.

    Version 2020.3.18f1 and previous do not have this issue.
     
  26. MichaelHeiml82

    MichaelHeiml82

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    30
    Hi and thanks. Just to let you know, the issue still appears in 2020.3.20. Any chance one of your colleagues looks at the linked thread (https://forum.unity.com/threads/macos-not-using-discrete-gpu-no-matter-why-i-do.1133725/), because the issue has quite a big impact on working on a Mac. Plus it seems some parts of my bug report were lost, or at least they do not appear in the bug description (Bug 1371020). How do I add this infos now (how to reproduce, platform etc.)?
     
  27. pistoleta

    pistoleta

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Posts:
    539
    Same issue here on 2020.3.20 , updated from 2020.3.18 and all was fine before upgrading.
    Mac 11.4
     
  28. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    The fix landed to 2020.3.21f1 last night. It's about to land to 2021.1 line too.
     
    pistoleta and spacepluk like this.
  29. pistoleta

    pistoleta

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Posts:
    539
    Great! Will be 2020.3.21 soon available?
     
  30. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    It's scheduled for next week. It's undergoing testing now.
     
  31. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    It also just landed to 2021.1.26f1 too.
     
    Dennis_eA likes this.
  32. greg-harding

    greg-harding

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    @Tautvydas-Zilys how do issues qualify to be listed in the release notes as a known issue? I would have expected a bug like this to be listed given how badly it affects editor performance (particularly in 2020.3 LTS).
     
  33. jason_yak

    jason_yak

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Posts:
    548
    Snap... I wondered this exact thing this morning when looking at the release notes checking for a resolution.

    I wish we could subscribe to issue trackers to be alerted when they were fixed, or at least an alert from fogbugz if we're the ones who have reported a bug to let us know when they've hit a production version. Often the language used to describe a fix in the release notes doesn't correlate to bug reports submitted and I find myself having to read through these long lists of issues soooo often, trawling to see if a fix has landed, and trying to decipher what the fixes mean to see if they're by some chance related to the fix I'm actually interested in. Wouldn't it be great if we could just be pinged when they're fixed, or even get updates on an ETA for a fix like 'issue 123 is planned for Unity v2027.2.45', it might just cut down the forum activity by 80% pretty much this over and over "when is the fix arriving??"

    In the meantime, super appreciative of the updates you always put up @Tautvydas-Zilys thanks!! I just wish there was a formal way all of this info could be surfaced and easily tracked.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2021
    Squize, pistoleta and greg-harding like this.
  34. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    It gets automatically populated. I'm not quite sure why it wasn't for this bug!
     
  35. greg-harding

    greg-harding

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Hmm, better check some pull requests and feed us a round of scapegoats... :)

    Thanks for keeping everyone up to date - much appreciated. As @jason_yak suggested, being able to watch bug reports would be handy, or a more useful public issue tracker would be great too (public facing descriptions/repro steps, watchable, spam removed from comments etc).
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2021
    spacepluk, pistoleta and jason_yak like this.
  36. GuidewireGames

    GuidewireGames

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    This is pretty unbearable. My simple projects are totally unworkable on my macbook. Is the problem clearly the Unity versions or is it the OS? I've had other S***ty performance issues on Big Sur.
    This related? https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/666661?page=19

    I was hoping Mac OS Monterey would smooth out things... ;-)
     
  37. GuidewireGames

    GuidewireGames

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    Can this be fixed now please?
     
  38. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    As I wrote above, the fixes landed to 2021.1.16f1 and 2020.3.21f1. 2021.1.16f1 is already out, with 2020.3.21f1 coming shortly.

    EDIT: Made a typo, it's in 2021.1.26f1, not 2021.1.16f1
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2021
    GuidewireGames likes this.
  39. GuidewireGames

    GuidewireGames

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    I'm using 2021.1.25 and it seems to still be happening.
     
  40. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    Sorry, I made some typos. The fix is in 2021.1.26, not 2021.1.16.
     
    GuidewireGames likes this.
  41. GuidewireGames

    GuidewireGames

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    great!
     
  42. GuidewireGames

    GuidewireGames

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    Amazing! Frame rates are back to normal ;-) I don't need to buy a new computer now.
     
  43. justdizzy

    justdizzy

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Posts:
    90
    Just installed 2021.1.26 on M1 MacBook Air + external monitor, framerate is great and performance is smooth, EXCEPT the game view occasionally blinks gray (I have dark mode on), and the scene view blinks gray pretty frequently, making it difficult to use.

    I'll test 2020.3.21 when it's released.

    2 steps forward, 1 step back, huh?

    MORE INFO: the flickering seems to be relayed to my cursor scrolling over UI elements of the Editor.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2021
  44. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    Does this only happen on your project? Do you mind filing a bug report?
     
  45. MichaelHeiml82

    MichaelHeiml82

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    30
    Hi. Thanks for the Update. I upgraded to 2021.1.26. While Editor performance is noticeably better, Editor still uses integrated graphics rather than GPU on MacOS Big Sur, even when GPU is specifically selected in "Preferences/Device To Use". I check the status which GPU is used with the tool "gfxCardStatus", which reliably tells me when the Mac switches to the GPU and back.

    Could it be that the issue discussed here / fixed with 2021.1.26 is not directly related to the issue I described (https://forum.unity.com/threads/macos-not-using-discrete-gpu-no-matter-why-i-do.1133725/) and therefore only partially fixed? If so, could please someone of your QA members look into the thread I just linked, because no one replied although I postet this 3 weeks ago and its a major issue.
     
  46. jnho228

    jnho228

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    The same thing happens on my projects as well. M1 MacBook Air, trying with a few different projects, including brand new, and all packages updated results in the same thing: amazing editor performance again, but flickering so awful I'm staying on 2021.1.17 for the time being. I did file a bug report a few versions ago and included a video of what I was doing. Hopefully it helps!
     
  47. matt_caleigo

    matt_caleigo

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Same thing happens to me (Mac mini M1, empty project with a single cube in the scene view). 2021.1.26f1 solves performance issue but scene view flickers so bad that it's unusable (sometimes the scen view even goes blank and I have to reselect the cube to get the scene back).
     
  48. justdizzy

    justdizzy

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Posts:
    90
    I created a new URP project (A) and was not seeing the flickering issue, that is when I realized that the upgraded project was Classic RP, so I created a new project with Classic RP (B), and it IS flickering. Then I converted my testing project to URP, but the flickering continued, same with adding URP to project B. Lastly, I remove URP from project A that was not flickering, and the flickering has not resumed.
     
  49. justdizzy

    justdizzy

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Posts:
    90
    Huzzah! It looks like the flickering is when color space is set to Gamma, as switching to linear made it go away. I think the RP difference was just that a new URP project started in Linear color space.
     
    TV4Fun and jnho228 like this.
  50. jnho228

    jnho228

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    This worked for me!
     
    nico_st_29 likes this.