Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug 2020 Unity opening up multiple editor instances

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by tawdry, Feb 8, 2021.

  1. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    Hello
    Is this happening for anyone else or just me?
    Since using unity 2020. New instances of the unity editor just start opening up after a period of time or when I import assets into a project or when i do anything in the project window.Only reason I know about them is they appear in task manager but not on screen.Is this supposed to be happening?Most I have seen is 3 editors running so far I can close them manually in the task window.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2021
  2. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    Thought it might have had to do with unity hub so I deleted that but did not help.Tried a new project that did not help.Unity 19 LTS and unity 5 don't open up new instances out of the blue so is this intended behavior with unity 20 or is my copy just bugged?
     
  3. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    I uninstalled and reinstalled the latest build 2020.2.3 and its still doing the same thing .WHY?????is it supposed to do this .Can someone help me out here what purpose does opening up new editor windows that cant even be accessed serve. its eating up all my ram and using resources is this intended?
    WTH?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2021
  4. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    You can see in the video how even just creating a simple prefab opens a second editor window.
     
  5. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
  6. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    Bumpity bump
     
  7. bobisgod234

    bobisgod234

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    1,042
    It is possibly that Unity is intentionally creating another instance of the exe in the background for whatever reason. You could report it as a bug and see what QA say about it.
     
  8. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    Hi Bob so you are also using unity 2020?It is not doing the same for you?It opens up that editor window no matter what I do
     
  9. bltowry

    bltowry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    I had this problem. Here is a possible solution:
    Window > Layouts> Revert Factory Layout
    This might cause a infinite loop of errors, here is the solution for that:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/can...ed-to-load-window-layout.694450/#post-6300021
    This worked for me.
     
  10. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    Hi bltowry
    Had the annoying double window occurance where u get a grey second window opening when you launch and I did the revert factory settings on that.Had to reboot my computer after as It opened up a ton of windows.
    This is not that.
    Here you can't see the second editor other than in task manager. Anyway tried to revert factory settings again but it won't let me just says

    Failed to load window layout: System.InvalidOperationException: Trying to create a second main window from layout when one already exists.
    at UnityEditor.ContainerWindow.Show (UnityEditor.ShowMode showMode, System.Boolean loadPosition, System.Boolean displayImmediately, System.Boolean setFocus) [0x00013] in <a936841cea2147a2a55ea27843fa46ae>:0
    at UnityEditor.WindowLayout.LoadWindowLayout (System.String path, System.Boolean newProjectLayoutWasCreated, System.Boolean setLastLoadedLayoutName, System.Boolean keepMainWindow) [0x00416] in
     
  11. bltowry

    bltowry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Try the second links instructions just edited:
    Press [Revert Factory Layout]
    2. Unity copies the correct default layout to CurrentLayout-default.dwlt
    3. Unity complains that it still cannot load the layout
    3a. Press Revert Factory Layout. < this fixes the file
    4. Copy the now correct CurrentLayout-default.dwlt somewhere < copy it from the project that's not working from your project's "Library > CurrentLayout
    5. Save everything, and close the project.
    6. Unity corrupts the file during quitting
    7. Copy back the correct CurrentLayout-default.dwlt
    8. Start Unity again
    If that doesn't work try deleting this, but only after deactivating!:
    C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Roaming\Unity
    If THAT doesn't work, I'm not sure what the problem is, I would do a bug report:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/beta/guide-to-beta-testing#tab-3
     
  12. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    If that doesn't work try deleting this, but only after deactivating!:
    C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Roaming\Unity


    Well deleted it did not help went further and deleted unity in the locallow and local folders of the appdata and didn't help either..Probably something in the registry but I don't know what to look for in that minefield guess I will submit that bug report.
     
  13. bltowry

    bltowry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Well, its a good thing to get your Unity Roaming data cleared out sometimes anyway.
     
  14. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    Well, its a good thing to get your Unity Roaming data cleared out sometimes anyway.
    True that

    The thing I don't get is it stores all the packages on the roaming app local folder but when you need to add a package to your project it instead downloads it and uses up precious bandwidth instead of just copying the files over from the appdata storage.
     
  15. bltowry

    bltowry

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    I'm sure they have a reason, that they "cannot confirm nor deny". lol
     
  16. tawdry

    tawdry

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    1,357
    Well I am glad one of us thinks there's reason in the things they do