Search Unity

2020.1.xx - 2020.2.0ax - 2019.4.0fx - Default layouts do not display as they should

Discussion in '2020.2 Beta' started by APSchmidt, Apr 24, 2020.

  1. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    @LeonhardP Linux Mint user, I cannot report this as a bug since Linux Mint is not one of the Linux distributions Unity Technologies supports; if I did, my bug report would be immediately closed.

    I wish that the devs will be kind enough to read this and take a look though.

    This is what the default layouts look like for me; modifying them and save the new versions is useless, when I load them they do not display as they should either.

    - 2 by 3:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_12-57-29.png

    - 4 Split (this one doesn't look too weird but it's not right either):

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_12-59-23.png

    - Default:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_13-00-27.png

    - Tall:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_13-02-44.png

    - Wide:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_13-04-15.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2020
    jooleanlogic and hippocoder like this.
  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    @LeonhardP Same problem in 2020.2.0a10. The Default layout is correct when I use the "Reset to factory settings" tool; as soon as I switch to other layouts, including the Default one, each of them are broken.
     
  3. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    @LeonhardP

    2020.2.0a12, the problem is still there, as described in my previous post!!!

    Is anybody even reading this???

    I cannot believe that I am the only one experiencing this. Are there Ubuntu users here who could confirm they have this same problem?
     
  4. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    @LeonhardP @unity_Madkins Same problem in 0a13.

    I can use 0a13 only after resetting the layouts to the factory settings and never use another layout. When I do the reset, the default layout displays as it should; as soon as I reload it or choose another layout, they are like on the images above.

    I must reset the layouts to the factory settings, or resize the different views, each time I load my project. Very impractical...

    I never had this problem with 2020.1 Alpha.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2020
  5. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,837
    Hi @APSchmidt,
    I've forwarded your feedback to the team.
     
    APSchmidt likes this.
  6. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Ah, at last, thank you! I hope this will be fixed soon. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2020
  7. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Hi, I just installed 2019.4.0f1 and the problem is there too... :(
     
  8. tbg10101_

    tbg10101_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    172
    I also had the same issue in 2019.4. (Linux)
     
  9. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Ah, at last! I feel a lot less lonely all of a sudden! :D

    Which Linux distro?
     
  10. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Hi,

    Same thing in 2020.2.0a15.
     
  11. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    About 2019.4 LTS, even returning to the factory settings gives a wrong result:

    Capture d’écran_2020-06-19_10-15-16.png
     
  12. tbg10101_

    tbg10101_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    172
    Ubuntu 18.04.
     
  13. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Great!

    Please, tell me you filed a bug report! If you didn't, please, do it. I can't for the reasons I have explained already.

    @LeonhardP
     
  14. tbg10101_

    tbg10101_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    172
    I haven't yet. My project is still on 2019.2 and we are only just now exploring the possibility of updating. I will at some point.
     
  15. JoNax97

    JoNax97

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    533
    Have you thought about installing a supported distro and filling a bug if you reproduce it?
     
  16. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    I installed Ubuntu before Mint; for some reason Ubuntu lags horribly on my computer making it unusable.

    Edit: anyway, I don't like Ubuntu, what it has become. Linux Mint is user friendly and does the job perfectly and that's all what I need.
     
  17. JoNax97

    JoNax97

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    533
    Well it's not about liking Ubuntu or not, it's about doing your part in getting a bug (that so far you're the main person suffering from it) fixed.

    I completely understand it not being usable for you, though.
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  18. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    We are at least two. Anyway I can live with it; if it's never fixed, I can adapt.
     
  19. btristan

    btristan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    92
    I reported it: 1258663 (using Unity 2020.1 on Ubuntu 2018.04)
     
    jooleanlogic, LeonhardP and Peter77 like this.
  20. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Thank you! :)

    It also happens in 2020.1? It didn't in the past.
     
  21. btristan

    btristan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    92
    Happens to me using 2020.1.0b13.
     
    APSchmidt likes this.
  22. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Thanks for mentioning it. :)
     
  23. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,837
    Ultroman and APSchmidt like this.
  24. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
  25. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Is this really fixed in the brand new 2020.2 beta as mentioned on the issue tracker? I won't install any new version of Unity as long as the fps 10 limit will not be fixed.
     
  26. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,837
    Yes, if it says so on the issue tracker in the field below, it means someone put the information there after validating the fix.

    Screenshot 2020-09-04 at 12.16.59.png
     
  27. andrekrit

    andrekrit

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I stumbled unto this discussion after searching for a while. Can't believe this problem has not been resolved earlier! There must not be many (almost any) Unity devs on Linux then. I hope the Ubuntu release will get more attention in future as I've also just switched over from Windows. At least you guys are not "alone" anymore ;-).
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
unityunity