Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice

2020.1.xx - 2020.2.0ax - 2019.4.0fx - Default layouts do not display as they should

Discussion in '2020.2 Beta' started by Deleted User, Apr 24, 2020.

  1. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    @LeonhardP Linux Mint user, I cannot report this as a bug since Linux Mint is not one of the Linux distributions Unity Technologies supports; if I did, my bug report would be immediately closed.

    I wish that the devs will be kind enough to read this and take a look though.

    This is what the default layouts look like for me; modifying them and save the new versions is useless, when I load them they do not display as they should either.

    - 2 by 3:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_12-57-29.png

    - 4 Split (this one doesn't look too weird but it's not right either):

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_12-59-23.png

    - Default:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_13-00-27.png

    - Tall:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_13-02-44.png

    - Wide:

    Capture d’écran_2020-04-24_13-04-15.png
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2020
    JooleanLogic and hippocoder like this.
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    @LeonhardP Same problem in 2020.2.0a10. The Default layout is correct when I use the "Reset to factory settings" tool; as soon as I switch to other layouts, including the Default one, each of them are broken.
     
  3. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    @LeonhardP

    2020.2.0a12, the problem is still there, as described in my previous post!!!

    Is anybody even reading this???

    I cannot believe that I am the only one experiencing this. Are there Ubuntu users here who could confirm they have this same problem?
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    @LeonhardP @unity_Madkins Same problem in 0a13.

    I can use 0a13 only after resetting the layouts to the factory settings and never use another layout. When I do the reset, the default layout displays as it should; as soon as I reload it or choose another layout, they are like on the images above.

    I must reset the layouts to the factory settings, or resize the different views, each time I load my project. Very impractical...

    I never had this problem with 2020.1 Alpha.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2020
  5. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,135
    Hi @APSchmidt,
    I've forwarded your feedback to the team.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Ah, at last, thank you! I hope this will be fixed soon. :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 4, 2020
  7. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Hi, I just installed 2019.4.0f1 and the problem is there too... :(
     
  8. tbg10101_

    tbg10101_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    192
    I also had the same issue in 2019.4. (Linux)
     
  9. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Ah, at last! I feel a lot less lonely all of a sudden! :D

    Which Linux distro?
     
  10. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Hi,

    Same thing in 2020.2.0a15.
     
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    About 2019.4 LTS, even returning to the factory settings gives a wrong result:

    Capture d’écran_2020-06-19_10-15-16.png
     
  12. tbg10101_

    tbg10101_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    192
    Ubuntu 18.04.
     
  13. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Great!

    Please, tell me you filed a bug report! If you didn't, please, do it. I can't for the reasons I have explained already.

    @LeonhardP
     
  14. tbg10101_

    tbg10101_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    192
    I haven't yet. My project is still on 2019.2 and we are only just now exploring the possibility of updating. I will at some point.
     
  15. JoNax97

    JoNax97

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    611
    Have you thought about installing a supported distro and filling a bug if you reproduce it?
     
  16. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    I installed Ubuntu before Mint; for some reason Ubuntu lags horribly on my computer making it unusable.

    Edit: anyway, I don't like Ubuntu, what it has become. Linux Mint is user friendly and does the job perfectly and that's all what I need.
     
  17. JoNax97

    JoNax97

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    611
    Well it's not about liking Ubuntu or not, it's about doing your part in getting a bug (that so far you're the main person suffering from it) fixed.

    I completely understand it not being usable for you, though.
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  18. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    We are at least two. Anyway I can live with it; if it's never fixed, I can adapt.
     
  19. btristan

    btristan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    I reported it: 1258663 (using Unity 2020.1 on Ubuntu 2018.04)
     
    JooleanLogic, LeonhardP and Peter77 like this.
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Thank you! :)

    It also happens in 2020.1? It didn't in the past.
     
  21. btristan

    btristan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    Happens to me using 2020.1.0b13.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  22. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Thanks for mentioning it. :)
     
  23. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,135
    Ultroman and Deleted User like this.
  24. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

  25. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Is this really fixed in the brand new 2020.2 beta as mentioned on the issue tracker? I won't install any new version of Unity as long as the fps 10 limit will not be fixed.
     
  26. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,135
    Yes, if it says so on the issue tracker in the field below, it means someone put the information there after validating the fix.

    Screenshot 2020-09-04 at 12.16.59.png
     
  27. andrekrit

    andrekrit

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    I stumbled unto this discussion after searching for a while. Can't believe this problem has not been resolved earlier! There must not be many (almost any) Unity devs on Linux then. I hope the Ubuntu release will get more attention in future as I've also just switched over from Windows. At least you guys are not "alone" anymore ;-).
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  28. hecker_de

    hecker_de

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2021
    Posts:
    19
    For some reason it was working in 2020.3 until 2020.3.15f2 and broke (again?) with 2020.3.16f1...
    And they closed another bug report in this stating they won't backport the fix to version before 2021.x

    Since it's clearly a regression they introduced between 15f2 and 16f1, this shouldn't be that difficult to solve for the 2020.3 versions (especially since they've got it fixed already)...
     
    tbg10101_ likes this.
  29. tbg10101_

    tbg10101_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    192
    I am seeing the same issue.