Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

2019a11 Cinemachine doesn't see Timeline namespace

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by taylank, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. taylank

    taylank

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    111
    Hi, I'm having issues after switching to the package manager versions of Cinemachine and Timeline (and yes, I removed the asset store version first).

    Library\PackageCache\com.unity.cinemachine@2.2.7\Runtime\Timeline\CinemachineTrack.cs(4,19): error CS0234: The type or namespace name 'Timeline' does not exist in the namespace 'UnityEngine' (are you missing an assembly reference?)

    There are a bunch of other compile errors all related to classes in Timeline namespace. I have Timeline showing up as an installed package and I can refer to it just fine from game code. Any idea what's going on?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    In Unity 2019.a11, timeline has become a package, breaking a whole bunch of other packages that are assuming that Timeline is still built-in, including Cinemachine. Until these issues are fixed, you'd do well to downgrade Unity back to something earlier
     
    GilbertoBitt likes this.
  3. taylank

    taylank

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    111
    Thanks and I appreciate the timely response.
     
  4. GilbertoBitt

    GilbertoBitt

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Posts:
    76
    After Add to my manifest.json the timeline:
    Code (javascript):
    1. "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin",
    I upgrade via Package Manager UI the cinemachine from 2.2.7 to 2.3.0-preview1:
    upload_2018-12-5_20-12-54.png
     
    Jason-Michael and pbrito_unity like this.
  5. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    2.3.0 is for Unity 2019.1 and up. It addresses the Timeline dependency issue.
     
    GilbertoBitt and Lars-Steenhoff like this.
  6. 5argon

    5argon

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,265
    *You need
    "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com",
    in the manifest to see this version which works with 19.1. I removed the manifest because UT at Addressables forum told me to and forgot to put it back.
     
  7. drordoit

    drordoit

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    I don't have any experience with the "manifest.json" , and got many errors right now.
    Can you please explain where is the file (I found several of my the same name), and where to add the line?
    P.s : I got the problem with "Cinameshime" and the "Unit 2d animation" package
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
  8. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    This file is MyProject/Packages/Manifest.json.
    You add the line right before the "dependencies" line.
    Like this:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. {
    2.   "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com",
    3.   "dependencies": {
    4.     "com.unity.package-manager-ui": "0.0.0-builtin",
    5.     "com.unity.ads": "2.0.8",
    6.     "com.unity.analytics": "3.2.2",
    7.     "com.unity.cinemachine": "2.3.0-preview.2",
    8.     "com.unity.collab-proxy": "1.2.9",
    9.     "com.unity.purchasing": "2.0.1",
    10.     "com.unity.textmeshpro": "1.3.0",
    11.     "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin",
    12.     "com.unity.xr.legacyinputhelpers": "1.0.0",
    13.  
    14. etc
     
  9. drordoit

    drordoit

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    Found it, and already have the line "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin", in it with no option to update to "cinemachine 2.3.0". What can I do?
     
  10. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
  11. drordoit

    drordoit

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    Nop. I added the line and now the package manager says he can't load any packages and give me some new errors in the console :
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Cannot perform upm operation: Cannot set property 'isRootDependency' of null [NotFound]UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Error fetching package list (offline mode).UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Error fetching package list.UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
     
  12. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    Maybe you created a syntax error in the json. Can you post the contents here?
     
  13. drordoit

    drordoit

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    I reentered the line and the package manager is working now bow all the packages appear as "uninstall" without the option to install them. That the file content :
    Code (JavaScript):
    1. {
    2.   "dependencies": {
    3.     "com.unity.2d.animation": "1.0.16-preview.2",
    4.     "com.unity.2d.ik": "1.0.6-preview.1",
    5.     "com.unity.ads": "2.0.8",
    6.     "com.unity.analytics": "3.2.2",
    7.     "com.unity.cinemachine": "2.2.7",
    8.     "com.unity.collab-proxy": "1.2.9",
    9.     "com.unity.package-manager-ui": "0.0.0-builtin",
    10.     "com.unity.purchasing": "2.0.1",
    11.     "com.unity.textmeshpro": "1.3.0",
    12.     "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin",
    13.     "com.unity.xr.legacyinputhelpers": "1.0.0",
    14.     "com.unity.modules.ai": "1.0.0",
    15.     "com.unity.modules.animation": "1.0.0",
    16.     "com.unity.modules.assetbundle": "1.0.0",
    17.     "com.unity.modules.audio": "1.0.0",
    18.     "com.unity.modules.cloth": "1.0.0",
    19.     "com.unity.modules.director": "1.0.0",
    20.     "com.unity.modules.imageconversion": "1.0.0",
    21.     "com.unity.modules.imgui": "1.0.0",
    22.     "com.unity.modules.jsonserialize": "1.0.0",
    23.     "com.unity.modules.particlesystem": "1.0.0",
    24.     "com.unity.modules.physics": "1.0.0",
    25.     "com.unity.modules.physics2d": "1.0.0",
    26.     "com.unity.modules.screencapture": "1.0.0",
    27.     "com.unity.modules.terrain": "1.0.0",
    28.     "com.unity.modules.terrainphysics": "1.0.0",
    29.     "com.unity.modules.tilemap": "1.0.0",
    30.     "com.unity.modules.ui": "1.0.0",
    31.     "com.unity.modules.uielements": "1.0.0",
    32.     "com.unity.modules.umbra": "1.0.0",
    33.     "com.unity.modules.unityanalytics": "1.0.0",
    34.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequest": "1.0.0",
    35.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestassetbundle": "1.0.0",
    36.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestaudio": "1.0.0",
    37.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequesttexture": "1.0.0",
    38.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestwww": "1.0.0",
    39.     "com.unity.modules.vehicles": "1.0.0",
    40.     "com.unity.modules.video": "1.0.0",
    41.     "com.unity.modules.vr": "1.0.0",
    42.     "com.unity.modules.wind": "1.0.0",
    43.     "com.unity.modules.xr": "1.0.0",
    44.     "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com"
    45.   }
    46. }
    47.  
     
  14. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    you need to put the
    "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com"
    line at the same level as dependencies, not inside. Look more carefully at my example and do the same thing.
     
  15. drordoit

    drordoit

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    I can see my error now. Didn't pay any attention to the line location.
    I'm Updating now to version 2.3.0.
    Thanks.
     
  16. pointcache

    pointcache

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Posts:
    525
    @taylank would be cool to add instructions on how to fix in the op,

    Add to manifest before dependencies:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. {
    2.   "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com",
    3.   "dependencies": {
    Add timeline package:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin",
     
  17. mariusgeorge

    mariusgeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Hi @Gregoryl, I'm running 2019.1.0a12. I have followed the above instructions regarding "staging-packages", etc. The project loads with the expected Timeline related issues coming from Cinemachine. Package Manager UI does not allow me to update beyond 2.2.8 for Cinemachine. Anything change in a12?

    Thanks!
     
  18. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    If you have followed the instructions correctly, then you should be able to upgrade CM to 2.3. Can you post your project's manifest.json here?
     
  19. mariusgeorge

    mariusgeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Whoops sorry - I have reverted to the previous 2018.3 setup via our source control. I will revisit the 2019 upgrade as soon as beta phase hits. Thanks for the reply!
     
  20. Hattoriseed

    Hattoriseed

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    I also am unable to find Timeline on the Package Manager, I added: "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com" and "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin", to the manifest.json of package manager but the timeline part throws an error everytime I try opening the project. Screenshot (42).png
     
  21. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    The error shows that timeline version is set to 1.0.0.
    Try 0.0.0-builtin instead. Hardcode that directly into you manifest.json.
     
  22. Hattoriseed

    Hattoriseed

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Yes, I forgot to change it back before I took the screenshot but I did try it with "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin" and seeing that it didn't work that's when I changed it to 1.00 following the example from the other ones on the list.

    Also, I tried with other projects and with Unity 2018.2 and I still don't have Timeline on the package manager list, if I add "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin" to the manifest while I have a project open this is what happens:
    Screenshot (44).png
     
  23. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    Timeline is a package starting only in 2019.1.
    For Unity 2018.x, you should remove timeline from the manifest.
     
  24. Hattoriseed

    Hattoriseed

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Wasn't Timeline released from Unity 2017.1 ? It used to be on the asset store and then moved to package manager for Unity 2017 and 2018 right? so now is not available on any other version other than the current Unity Beta 2019.1?
     
  25. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    It's native in 2017 and 2018, and available as a package starting in 2019.
     
  26. Hattoriseed

    Hattoriseed

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Oh I had no idea, Thank you so much, the tutorials I have seen are outdated so I didn't know where to look for it, I see that it is now placed on Window/Sequencing/Timeline
     
  27. GameDevCouple_I

    GameDevCouple_I

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,946
    This has broken FBX exporter in 2018.3

    We cannot import that package as it references timeline package, which doesnt exist for 2018.3

    Which in turn now means our workflow in our studio is disrupted for 6+ people

    @Gregoryl can we please get some comment on this and when a fix is coming? This is a serious issue our major client projects all rely on timeline
     
  28. markvi

    markvi

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Posts:
    54
    Hi folks, looks like there's a bug in 2018.3.3f1 and earlier that doesn't respect the minimum required Unity version flag in packages, so Package Manager is showing the wrong version - preview.4 is a fix for Unity 2019.1 and the Timeline package dependency.

    Please use the "Update to" combo box to switch to 2.0.1-preview.2.

    The only changes in preview.4 are to support Unity 2019.1. The next patch release of 2018.3 will include a shim Timeline package so we'll have a single version working on 2018.3 and 2019.1. Thanks for your patience!
     
    GameDevCouple_I likes this.
  29. GameDevCouple_I

    GameDevCouple_I

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,946
    Thanks for getting back quickly about this!
     
  30. austin-beck

    austin-beck

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    @Gregoryl our project on 2018.1 got an automatic package update a little earlier today that I'm guessing is an unintended result of the fix for this issue. After launching Unity ever since then, the project is failing to compile. We're on Cinemachine version 2.2.7. Nothing has changed in our manifest.json since September.

    Any chance we could get some eyes on this?

    In case it's helpful, the compilation errors say that Timeline and UI apparently don't exist in the UnityEngine namespace.

    Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!
     
  31. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    It's a little unclear what's going on. The abovementioned issue does not apply to 2018.1. If your manifest hasn't changed, then what got updated?
     
  32. austin-beck

    austin-beck

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    I'm guessing it's one of the packages that's always included (and presumably set to auto-update?)

    Edit: I guess this might not be the right place to be posting this, since it's not really Cinemachine's fault. It just seems like it's related, which is why I figured posting here would be appropriate.

    UPDATE: Ok turns out that it wasn't actually an automatic update like I was assuming. Compilation of Assembly-CSharp.dll on our project was failing. For some reason, Unity still went on to try to compile all package DLLs (some of which require stuff in Assembly-CSharp.dll), and for some reason the only errors that were showing up in the Console were from the packages, not from the main failure... In case anyone else sees something like this, check your Editor log for hidden compilation failures.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  33. LoneWolfGameDevCourse

    LoneWolfGameDevCourse

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Posts:
    57
    I'm still having all these same issues in 2018.3.4 and 2018.3.5. The Package Manager still shows Fbx Exporter up to preview 5 and using anything above preview 2 is giving errors about not being able to find the timeline-0.0.0-builtin dependency. On top of that, with Preview 5, I can no longer even add Fbx Prefab Components to my GameObjects as it's telling me it's an Editor script... There's no timeline package listed in the manager.

    It almost seems like you guys might have also pulled Timeline out of the 2018.3 Editor at some point, but then forgot to make a 2018.3 package for it :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
    StarcMade likes this.
  34. KrankyBoyGames

    KrankyBoyGames

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    Same issue here. 2019.1.3f1 - upgraded from latest 2018. I have modified the manifest file properly and installed the latest cinemachine and timeline packages but the timeline package is not being seen (I am using latest UMA - which is causing the issues). When I look at the packages folder I see Cinemachine there but no timeline. I have tried both the 1.0.0 and the 0.0.0-builtin one you recommended....

    "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com",
    "dependencies": {
    "com.unity.burst": "1.0.4",
    "com.unity.cinemachine": "2.3.4-preview.11",
    "com.unity.collections": "0.0.9-preview.19",
    "com.unity.jobs": "0.0.7-preview.12",
    "com.unity.mathematics": "1.0.1",
    "com.unity.package-manager-ui": "2.1.2",
    "com.unity.postprocessing": "2.2.0",
    "com.unity.textmeshpro": "2.0.1",
    "com.unity.timeline": "1.0.0",
     
  35. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,931
    Try removing the timeline form manifest.json and installing it with package manager
     
  36. KrankyBoyGames

    KrankyBoyGames

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    Thanks for suggestion. It ended up being an issue with UMA. When I upgraded to 2.8.1 I did not delete the original folder. No clue why it would spiral the way it did.
     
  37. magg

    magg

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    I tried everything suggested, but nothing works (2019.2).
    Any other ideas? Trying UMA as well.
     
  38. Tarrag

    Tarrag

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    120
    Hi, I'm on Unity 2019.1.6f1, can't get it to work.

    Manifest showing "com.unity.timeline": "1.0.0" but Timeline didn't show on Window. I then added "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com",but still not working.

    I changed "com.unity.timeline": "1.0.0", to "com.unity.timeline": "0.0.0-builtin", but fails:
    An error occurred while resolving packages:
    Project has invalid dependencies:
    com.unity.timeline: Package [com.unity.timeline@0.0.0-builtin] cannot be found
    A re-import of the project may be required to fix the issue or a manual modification of /Packages/manifest.json file.

    I've then tried 2019.2 and same issue, where does cinemachine work 2019+?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
  39. julienb

    julienb

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Posts:
    133
    In 2019.1.0a14, Timeline changed its version number to 1.0.0. So if you have a version of Unity 2019.1 higher than 0a13, you should use
    "com.unity.timeline": "1.0.0"


    Also, keep in mind that the menu entry to show the timeline window has changed; it is now in Window -> Sequencing -> Timeline.

    Could you describe what is not working? Do you have compilation errors or is Timeline not listed in the Window menu?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
  40. Tarrag

    Tarrag

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    120
    Thanks a bunch @julienb , found it in sequencing and no errors :)
    I had not seen a reference to Sequencing holding it
    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
    julienb likes this.