Search Unity

Assets 2019 RELEASE (3D , 2D , PRO) Radar Builder

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by DaiMangou, Dec 5, 2015.

  1. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    858
    Strange that you would remove it completely for that and not just update it? : /
     
  2. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    the tutoriak abd character update wouldn't be ready soon enough and i dont want anyone to pay for anythibg that is going to be annoying because the tutirials need ti be updated and a new chsracter created anumated abd okace in each scene across all 6 radar builders.

    i did send it back to unity two days ago and ive included the new character . the tutorials arent dobe yet. they will be quite lenghty.

    I'll have to cover every function if the radar builders from start to finish. the full length of the tutoriak will be well over an hour but will be broken into several parts.
     
  3. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    858
    Ah nice, well that is great news though. : D
     
  4. Ttravi

    Ttravi

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    32
    I don't have a clue on how to setup the minimap values so it matches the current player position. Also the player icon at it's center rotates more than the player actually rotates.
     
  5. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    check out the tutorial on minimap setup.



    As for center blip rotation , if you are using 2D Radar Builder set the value in the rotation target to "use Y"

    if you are using a 3D Radar then just check over you rotation settings again.

    A whole new set of tutorials and completely rebuild Radar Builder packages and A free target tacking extension for all radar builders in going to be released soon.
     
    Ttravi likes this.
  6. Ttravi

    Ttravi

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    32
    I'll have to give up. Even following your video the map doesn't align correctly with player and blips position on scenario.
     
  7. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    email me a screenshot of your settings
     
  8. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    Download the FREE UI Target Tracker extension for ALL radar builders



    Also, as is mentioned in the aset description.

    During import of the package. please ensure that you only import the package type that matches your Radar Builder version
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
  9. kburkhart84

    kburkhart84

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Posts:
    733
    So I'm getting to implement a simple 2d radar into my game. I get it to show the center blip for the player ship, and as you can see in the image, for some reason, when I try to add blip types, it never adds the options in the dialog for them. Any idea what could be going on to cause that?

    RadarBuilderIssue.jpg
     
  10. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    when you press "enter" it doesn't add them ? what unity version and what radar builder version are you using ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2018
  11. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    Quick update. if you are using Radar Builders version 2018.4.2 or higher then please delete the DaiMangou core folder. Resource root and the core folder are now unnecessary . quite a few people have been wanting this. :)


    Also, if you have updated to version 2018.4.2 then change your 2D Radar rotation target settings from inverse to proportional and proportional to inverse
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2018
  12. kburkhart84

    kburkhart84

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Posts:
    733
    Figured it out..."enter" with the numpad enter is not the same as the "enter" above the right shift key. Using the correct key makes the settings appear. I guess that leads to a possible missing feature, make it work with both enter keys...especially since the text entry is a number, I bet I'm not the only one using the numpad to type the number in.

    LOL...I feel like I'm being looked at here.....
     
  13. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    :eek: the things i learn at this stage. i've never ever ever use the numpad or anything over there before. no spiderwebs on it but it sure is dusty hahaha.

    i have another code that will automatically set the value once you click out of the area, so thats going to be a function in a future update.
     
  14. kburkhart84

    kburkhart84

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Posts:
    733
    That is the way I would have expected it honestly...I didn't think anything of being forced to press the enter key, much less, the exact one, not the one I was using. In any case I should be able to get things going now.
     
  15. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    Anyone remember this scene ? I'm giving t to you in the next update -_-
    for pro radar builder

    yay

    along with the update @kburkhart84 let me know is needed and also finally the update to get rid of the harmless but annoying error you may see when you create a new radar.

     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2018
  16. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309



    HAPPY BUILDING!
     
    radiantboy likes this.
  17. GamerRob

    GamerRob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Posts:
    19
    I am using 3d radar builder. I change the tag on an object that is being tracked by the radar to a tag that is not being tagged. The object does not disappear from radar.
     
  18. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    Go to optimization settings for yoyr blip and turn on "Remove Blip On Tag Change".
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2018
  19. GamerRob

    GamerRob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks.... also found option that allows it to find newly spawned objects under optimization settings.
     
  20. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    there is a dedicated Optimization modeule tutorial on my channel. if you search for "radar builder optimization" you will find it in the first youtube result
     
  21. GamerRob

    GamerRob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks.... I have watched a number of tutorials on your radar but did not see that one
     
  22. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    maybe i will put a link to it right in the in the optimization settings foldout.

    Also, you can turn on "Show Help Messages" for tips in the editor
     
  23. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    New 2019 release is now on the AssetStore.
     
  24. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    New version to be released soon.

    The EditorWindows will be renamed so the editor Radar Builder editor will close itself after import , just go back int the tool menu and open it again.
     
  25. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    any new updates will be free extensions like the Ui target tracker.
     
  26. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    As of today April 5th 2019. everyone gets to upgrade to Source Included Versions for free.
     
    radiantboy likes this.
  27. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    All Radar Builders are being renamed to not have the words ”Source included ” in their names.

    EVERYONE who has ever bought a radar builder gets the source included version update for FREE.

    if you already had a source included version then nothing has changed for you it's all still there.

    More updates to the assets are scheduled.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
    rrahim likes this.
  28. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    The radars builders are to get a boost for rotation targeting for both the runtime code and ui.

    the new setup will look similar to our Game Bridge condition system which you can find on our storyteller post.

    There is actually still just one developer working on the assets , so a bit of time is needed
     
  29. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    157
    Hi,

    I am having a strange issue with the pro version of the radar builder.

    I just recently tested the radar in my project, and I found that even though the radar "blips" show up, there are all stuck at the origin of the radar, and don't move when the object that they are tracking moves.

    I tried loading an early backup of my project, in case I had broken something, and I tried reimporting, but that didn't work.

    I also tried creating a new radar, and looking at the example scenes, and all of them are broken.

    Finally, I tried updating to the current latest version of the radar, and reimporting, (to get this to work I had to comment out "3dradarbuildereditor") but the same issue existed in this.

    I'm using unity 2019.1.

    Something has obviously gone wrong in my project, but I don't know what. Have you seen this issue before? Is there anything obvious that I might have done to cause this issue?
     
  30. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    157
    Scratch that, I fixed my issue, I had made some changes to the main radar file that had caused my problem.
     
    DaiMangou likes this.
  31. radiantboy

    radiantboy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    856
    anyone know how you specify blips to grow/shrink based on distance? it seems some of mine do that and others don't..
     
  32. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    Use the Scale By Distance setting for your blip type. from there you set the min and max blip size. if your min and max are the same you wont see the scaling.
     
    radiantboy likes this.
  33. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    yeah, the source code is not something you want to break :) glad you got it fixed.
     
    PhoenixAdvanced likes this.
  34. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    @PhoenixAdvanced can you say what kind of function you were trying to add ?
     
  35. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    157
    Sure. I need complex radar objects with text displayed, like names and distances of objects, etc.
    I have made some extensive changes to the asset to accomplish this, but they are a little bit buggy, hence the issues.

    This is an image of the type of thing I'm doing:

    https://imgur.com/mj30005

    I can modify the colour of all of the radar blips dynamically, and change the text dynamically too, as the object moves. I can add things like the name of object (if it's a ship) or the distance (if it's a missile) and coordinates, etc.

    It's working, but there are some bugs I need to go back and fix.
     
  36. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309

    I have already made a free extension asset that does that. it is on the Assetstore. UI Target Tracker

     
  37. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    157
    Yes indeed, I just noticed that recently, I may go and integrate that asset into my project at some point, it seems to do what I need it to.
     
    DaiMangou likes this.
  38. DaiMangou

    DaiMangou

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    309
    New Update for the UI target tracker is coming.