Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug 2019.3.0b4 requesting non existing keyword at index ..

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by PipebknOT, Sep 21, 2019.

  1. zelmund

    zelmund

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    413
    2019.3.2f1
    this error still present
     
  2. Bombonito

    Bombonito

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I was using 2019.3.0f6, my problem was fixed after updating to 2019.3.2f1. I want to tell what led to this problem, maybe this will be useful for someone.

    I liked the way the lightning worked in Standard unity shader, but I'm still not very good at writing shaders and I needed to use few custom textures blended, so I found this post

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/modify-unity-5-standard-shader.313300/

    Where a guy from Unity Technologies suggested taking the shader and the .cginc from shaders pack, and then formatting them. I copied following files:

    Standard.shader
    UnityStandardCore.cginc
    UnityStandardCoreForward.cginc
    UnityStandardInput.cginc

    And then, according to the post, added few sampler2Ds, few float Parameters and an uniform array (for 1023 elems). Then changed the Albedo function in UnityStandardInput.cginc. Everything worked great, but after restarting the editor I was getting errors about "Requesting non existent keywords at index". And again, it was fixed after upgrading to 2019.3.2f1
     
  3. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    968
    I'm still occasionally getting these warnings still. Even in 2019.3.2f1. although not as frequent as before. Would be helpful to know where unity would encounter such an issue to help narrow it down and submit a repo
     
  4. LukasCh

    LukasCh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    84
  5. LukasCh

    LukasCh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    84
    Well technically, it should happen if material changes shader somehow internally. Which causes the current set local keywords invalid. One of the scenario as you know was with replacement camera shader.
     
    CDF likes this.
  6. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    215
    The error message is meaningless for users and looks like something internal was uncaught and made its way out of the engine. May I suggest rewording it for more clarity?
     
    grrava likes this.
  7. Xavier78

    Xavier78

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    I am getting the error still in 3.2. Though knowing Unity's long standing lack of actually getting fixes out when they say I am not surprised.
     
  8. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,535
    I just got this problem, think it had something to do with having Enviro... then adding Aura2, trying it out, with Enviro support, ie it was added to the Camera, then removing the component off the camera, and I just deleted the asset.. oh then the compiler symbol it left behind... and since then this error is showing...

    2019.3.3f1 doesn't fix it either
     
  9. shuskry

    shuskry

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Posts:
    299
    Same here, Just created a new project with Unity 2019.3.3f1 and HDRP template, opened for the first time .

    Delete the ShaderCache folder in library fixed it
     
  10. Bip901

    Bip901

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Posts:
    64
    Same here. My project was originally created in 2019.3.0f6 HDRP then upgraded to 2019.3.3f1 HDRP.
     
  11. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,185
    We're missing reproducibles for these additional cases. If you're affected by these errors and are able to reproduce them, please submit a bug report with the reproduction project attached.
     
  12. Bip901

    Bip901

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Posts:
    64
    I did two days ago. Case 1224795. It includes this error and an additional, possibly related bug.
     
    D3m0n, LeonhardP and Lorash like this.
  13. patSilva

    patSilva

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2019
    Posts:
    19
    I am using Unity 2019.3.3f1 and still got the error but this worked for me; I made a backup of the ShaderCache folder in case anything went wrong and I needed to bring it back. But it seemed that deleting it got rid of the errors for me and it also, obviously, rebuilt the Shader Cache folder.

    Just wondering what is the Shader Cache for? it sounds like it is used for Shader Variant references(?) but I do no know.
     
  14. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    269
    2019.3.5 -Still getting them. Mind you they just show up upon opening the editor and I hit clear and it's gone for that session.
     
  15. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    269
    Fixed this for me too... thanks!
     
  16. shuskry

    shuskry

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Posts:
    299
    Happen again here with a new project with URP template, I change the project for a VR project with open VR, I save , and restart and 200 error message has appear ...
     
  17. LukasCh

    LukasCh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    84
    We manged to reproduce the error in this case. Fix going to land in 2019.3.8f1.

    Again this fix solely targets the problem in that case, as error is very general, there is a chance there is more similar cases. Hopefully this will be enough, but just to be sure I am going to land in next release extended error reporting.
     
    FlightOfOne, Bip901 and Lorash like this.
  18. floky

    floky

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Posts:
    258
    Hey guys! Talked to Unity support about this issue.
    Apparently you have to delete the project "Library" folder and re-open the project to have it regenerated again to get rid of these errors. (this is more of a workaround I guess)
    I did this and the errors were gone until the next Unity project upgrade and then I deleted the "Library" again and all was good...again.

    !!! P.S. BACKUP your project with the old "Library" folder before attempting this!!!
     
  19. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    269
    Just fyi, when you delete it goes away, and then after a while (not sure what triggers it this is the best way I can put it) they come back.
     
  20. floky

    floky

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Posts:
    258
    On Unity 2019.3.6f1 I don't see this happening for me anymore. It might be different on a per project basis.
     
  21. BlackManatee

    BlackManatee

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    57
    I've got it on 3.6f1 too. I'm running the Universal Project Template setup, and the only assets I have installed are Behavior Designer and Behavior Designer/Movement. The error didn't show up during initial project creation nor during import of the two Behavior packages. It only began when I closed and reopened the project.

    Is there anything we should do, other than ignoring the error? For instance, is there a shader or camera setting we need to avoid? I had chosen the UPT setup mainly because of the presets for post-processing and camera setups (something that's always an afterthought in my projects, unfortunately).

    My hope was that, by using UPT I'd at least have some presets that were standardized and optimized, without glitches that could mess up the build/scene/lighting/rendering. Should I just roll back to the older releases, or is this truly benign?
     
  22. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    269
    I am now on 3.6 and still comes up.

    Looks like fix is going to come in 3.8
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2020
    filod and Lorash like this.
  23. blitzjoans

    blitzjoans

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Not fixed in 3.7
     
  24. axel182

    axel182

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Started a new project on 2019.3.7 and I get this
     

    Attached Files:

  25. GamesEngineer

    GamesEngineer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I can confirm this happens 100% for me, too.

    Reproduction steps:
    1. Create a project from the URP template and open it with Unity 2019.3.7f1
    2. Close the project.
    3. Re-open the project

    Results:
    54 errors of "Requesting non existent keyword at index NNN"
     
  26. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    215
    Let me just quickly quote this - no wonder it happens in 3.7
     
  27. astracat111

    astracat111

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Posts:
    624
    It hasn't been solved in 2019.3.5f1, I will upgrade the project once I tackle some more bugs created from just upgrading to 2019.3 from 2019.2.

     
    xzesstence likes this.
  28. Dawie3565

    Dawie3565

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    73
    found again confirmed issue in Standard pipeline 2019.3.3f1
     
  29. Teknick

    Teknick

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    just happened to us in 2019.3.7f1. Seemed to be connected to old substance materials once we imported the Substance importer asset
     
  30. astracat111

    astracat111

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Posts:
    624
    Yep, it went away when I immediately upgraded to 2019.3.7f1, but the problem has come back again when opening.

    It has the same exact number of errors as the video above so it's exactly the same thing.
     
  31. naveedabbasgd

    naveedabbasgd

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks Dude. This Worked for me.
     
  32. LukasCh

    LukasCh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    84
    As 2019.3.9f1 out. Does anyone still experience this issue (Make sure you delete .\Library\ShaderCache\EditorEncounteredVariants, before the upgrade).
     
  33. unity_MI5tI2w30kOa4g

    unity_MI5tI2w30kOa4g

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Worked for me. Thanks everyone for investigating this.

     
  34. pantang

    pantang

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Posts:
    133
    Worked liked a charm thank you!
     
  35. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    269
    FYI -This is fixed, no longer happens in 2019.3.8F1 !!
     
    xzesstence likes this.
  36. xzesstence

    xzesstence

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I can confirm, same here
     
  37. bunnynsnake

    bunnynsnake

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Getting this error in 2019.2.19f1
     
  38. LukasCh

    LukasCh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    84
    Good to hear.

    It will be backported to 2019.2
     
  39. bunnynsnake

    bunnynsnake

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I found that this was also linked to another error I was getting with Burst - where I did not have an updated version of VS C++ on my computer when I made the build.
     
  40. Matt-Murch

    Matt-Murch

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Just got it in 2019.30f3. Indexes 199, 146 - 198, 224 - 255. Indexes 226 and 229 happen earlier in the sequence.
     
  41. Matt-Murch

    Matt-Murch

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    After restarting Unity, I have Indexes 146-159 and 229.
     
  42. NatCou

    NatCou

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    I get this error too - using Unity 2019.3.0f5

    Requesting non existent keyword at index 131.
    0x00007FF67293BE7C (Unity) StackWalker::GetCurrentCallstack
    0x00007FF67293F2E1 (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    0x00007FF67108C255 (Unity) GetStacktrace
    0x00007FF67359AF1E (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x00007FF672417A18 (Unity) ShaderKeywordData::GetName
    0x00007FF67241803D (Unity) ShaderKeywordData::GetNames
    0x00007FF672480547 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::AddVariant
    0x00007FF6724848F5 (Unity) FinalizeVariant
    0x00007FF672486AC9 (Unity) GetSubProgramForShaderSnippet
    0x00007FF6724A1940 (Unity) ShaderLab::program::CompileShaderSubProgram
    0x00007FF6724A37C6 (Unity) ShaderLab:rogram::GetMatchingSubProgram
    0x00007FF6724AB23E (Unity) ShaderLab::ShaderState::FindSubProgramsToUse
    0x00007FF67249C148 (Unity) ShaderLab::pass::prepareVariant
    0x00007FF672496759 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::WarmupOneShaderImpl
    0x00007FF672497327 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::WarmupShadersImpl
    0x00007FF67249640E (Unity) WarmupEditorShaders
    0x00007FF6735D155E (Unity) Shader::ReloadAllShaders
    0x00007FF670F4F204 (Unity) GfxDevice::CommonReloadResources
    0x00007FF67059653C (Unity) ColorSpaceLiveSwitch
    0x00007FF6723212F8 (Unity) PlayerSettings::SyncCurrentColorSpace
    0x00007FF67076392F (Unity) Application::InitializeProject
    0x00007FF6710B9EE8 (Unity) WinMain
    0x00007FF674033BE2 (Unity) __scrt_common_main_seh
    0x00007FF831AE7BD4 (KERNEL32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    0x00007FF83356CE51 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart
     
  43. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    215
    You're using builds from many patches ago, of course you're going to see the errors before they got fixed.
     
unityunity