Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug 2019.3.0b4 requesting non existing keyword at index ..

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by PipebknOT, Sep 21, 2019.

  1. PipebknOT

    PipebknOT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Posts:
    71
    after closing unity 2019.3.0b4 for the first time and re-open my urp template project again after i installed the android module, it show these errors

    requesting non existing keyword at index 80
    requesting non existing keyword at index 81
    requesting non existing keyword at index 114
    requesting non existing keyword at index 118
    requesting non existing keyword at index 136
    requesting non existing keyword at index 138
    requesting non existing keyword at index 145

    etc.

    i dont know if its for the android module, or a urp shader keyword problem.
     
    Tanner555 likes this.
  2. Paul-Swanson

    Paul-Swanson

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    289
    Happens to me as well. I'm not even attempting Android builds or have the android module installed. Windows only for me. It also not URP related as I have no need for the new Shader Pipelines, I'm still running standard. I would totally rollback to a previous Unity version if I could as performance is crap now. But I'm stuck and its my own fault, I totally forgot to backup before the upgrade. I'l reply back if i find a fix. I can't even run a play a full build now b\c of this. it will build it just won't run it. also im running b5.

    Appears related to DX11, switching to DX12 makes them go away, but I cant use DX12 with my stuff. So something silly changed with how the editor manages DX shader keywords between 2019.2 and 2019.3
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2019
    astracat111 likes this.
  3. KingRecycle

    KingRecycle

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    I also got this, too. An extremely long time to launch the project then saw the errors. I closed and re-opened the project which loaded quicker and no errors.
     
  4. Paul-Swanson

    Paul-Swanson

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    289
    My errors are still there but it's not affecting the build or compilation so I'm at a loss
     
  5. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    Could you please submit a bug report for this issue?
     
  6. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Started getting lots of console error spam when loading my project in 2019.3.b09+
    Doesn't happen in empty project of course. So wondering if it might be something I'm doing.
    May have to submit my entire project as I can't reproduce.

    keywords.PNG

    Is this known?
    Stack trace:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Requesting non existent keyword at index 128.
    2. 0x00007FF6910E643C (Unity) StackWalker::GetCurrentCallstack
    3. 0x00007FF6910E98A1 (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    4. 0x00007FF68F854F15 (Unity) GetStacktrace
    5. 0x00007FF691D403E0 (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    6. 0x00007FF690BC3B68 (Unity) ShaderKeywordData::GetName
    7. 0x00007FF690BC418D (Unity) ShaderKeywordData::GetNames
    8. 0x00007FF690C2C4E7 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::AddVariant
    9. 0x00007FF690C30895 (Unity) FinalizeVariant
    10. 0x00007FF690C32A69 (Unity) GetSubProgramForShaderSnippet
    11. 0x00007FF690C4D8D0 (Unity) ShaderLab::Program::CompileShaderSubProgram
    12. 0x00007FF690C4F756 (Unity) ShaderLab::Program::GetMatchingSubProgram
    13. 0x00007FF690C571CE (Unity) ShaderLab::ShaderState::FindSubProgramsToUse
    14. 0x00007FF690C480D8 (Unity) ShaderLab::Pass::PrepareVariant
    15. 0x00007FF690C426E9 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::WarmupOneShaderImpl
    16. 0x00007FF690C432B7 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::WarmupShadersImpl
    17. 0x00007FF690C4239E (Unity) WarmupEditorShaders
    18. 0x00007FF691D767CE (Unity) Shader::ReloadAllShaders
    19. 0x00007FF68F71C154 (Unity) GfxDevice::CommonReloadResources
    20. 0x00007FF68ED71E4C (Unity) ColorSpaceLiveSwitch
    21. 0x00007FF690ACDDB8 (Unity) PlayerSettings::SyncCurrentColorSpace
    22. 0x00007FF68EF3C3C7 (Unity) Application::InitializeProject
    23. 0x00007FF68F882A08 (Unity) WinMain
    24. 0x00007FF6927D9122 (Unity) __scrt_common_main_seh
    25. 0x00007FFA70144034 (KERNEL32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    26. 0x00007FFA72833691 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart
     
  7. Levr01

    Levr01

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    Have same problem too after upgrade to 3.0b10
     
  8. Jichaels

    Jichaels

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Posts:
    229
    Same after reopening my project, 2019.3.0f1
     
    Ghosthowl, Tanner555 and P_Jong like this.
  9. AbsurdAndy

    AbsurdAndy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    I'm seeing this as well - it just started in Unity 2019.3.0f1, I hadn't seen it previously.
     
  10. attaway

    attaway

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    41
    Yeah I'm running into the same problem with 2019.3.0f1
     
  11. iamarugin

    iamarugin

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    490
    Same here
     
  12. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    We're still missing a reproduction project for this issue. If you're able to reproduce this issue, please submit a bug report with the project attached to it and reply in here with the issue ID.
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  13. dragoon-titanium

    dragoon-titanium

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I've found that deleting the ShaderCache folder in Library stops those errors, which probably means the new editor version using the compiled shaders from an old editor version when it shouldn't.

    Maybe the upgrade process should empty that folder?

    Trying to see if I can get the issue replicated consistently for a bug report.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
  14. dragoon-titanium

    dragoon-titanium

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    OK, so that just stops the issues on Editor start, I'm seeing it when using the search function on a complex scene with a bunch of materials.
     
  15. P_Jong

    P_Jong

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2017
    Posts:
    52
    I just started to get them as I was re-building my project in Unity 2019.3.3f1. I then checked my Layers and I was missing a lot of them. I had done a manual re-build from backups and not a upgrade of my project from 2019.2. So I forgot to re-type back in all my Layers. After I typed back in my missing layers, closed and re-opened the project all the "requesting non existing keyword at index" errors went away.
    Hope this helps some of you that are getting this.
     
    astracat111 likes this.
  16. ruggedisland

    ruggedisland

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same for me on 2019.3.0b 12.
    And on reopening project, the issue disappeared.
     
    astracat111 and P_Jong like this.
  17. TokyoWarfareProject

    TokyoWarfareProject

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    623
    same here using 2019.3.0b12 upgraded project form 2018.3 does not affect builds tho, did bilds for pc and xbox without issues and no aparent glitches


    upload_2019-12-21_21-4-34.png
     
  18. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,991
    Unity Technologies is unable to reproduce the issue and is asking for a project to reproduce it:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/201...xisting-keyword-at-index.748727/#post-5261936

    If you're able to reproduce the issue, please submit a bug-report as described in this document:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    It's important that you report these issues together with a reproduction project if you want them to get fixed. If you don't do it, it might be a long time until someone else reports them or until Unity Technologies find them.

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a bug-report Case number. Please post the Case number (number only, not the link) in this forum thread for Unity staff to pick up.
     
    jilleJr, dval and Charles_Beauchemin like this.
  19. Rallix

    Rallix

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Posts:
    97
    I'm sure most people here know how to send a bug report. I also get these errors almost always when I open the Editor, although they don't seem to affect anything (or at least I didn't notice yet).

    The problem others probably have as well is how to send a useful bug report. I can't pinpoint the cause, nor the first occurrence ("since 2019.3"); the only reproduction step I found is "open the Editor", and since the error provides no specific information, I can't really make a minimal repro project. And it seems to depend on the Library/ShaderCache from the previous posts, so the Library folder would have to be included, too.

    If it's of any use, I can of course send the entire 30GB Assets + 38GB Library folders, but that's about all the information I can provide about this bug. The stack trace was already posted by CDF earlier in the thread.
    The number of the 'non existent keywords' errors isn't the same every time I open the project, sometimes I get eight of them, sometimes two, sometimes none when opening the Editor. I'm attaching the Editor.log (as txt because of the forum extension restrictions) if it helps.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 22, 2019
  20. TokyoWarfareProject

    TokyoWarfareProject

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    623
    Unity needs better FTP for bug reports, my last bug report on Xbox forum required send whole project. It took me a while to prepare and after uploading there was some kind of issue with the size. They asked me to chop tthe zip in several parts and reupload.
    Please understand more and more we're running on tighter schedules because of the flood of shovelware etc. So we cant take long to prepare repro projects.
     
  21. Paul-Swanson

    Paul-Swanson

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    289
    This exactly. I cant just zip and upload a 20gig thing to demo the issue.
     
    Little_Robot_Guys likes this.
  22. HydroxTV

    HydroxTV

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Posts:
    24
    If you still need a project to reproduce the issue: I am using your online cloud collaborate storage, get a copy of it and use that! Name is : "Dragonstorm"
     
    astracat111 likes this.
  23. dragoon-titanium

    dragoon-titanium

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Unsure what exactly fixed it, but I have yet to see the error again in the new year after upgrading all the packages the project was using.

    We were using an older version of Core RP Library, which is the only directly rendering related package that got updated.

    Packages that got updated (Includes those updated in the upgrade process):

    "com.unity.render-pipelines.core": "5.7.2" -> "7.1.7",
    "com.unity.burst": "1.2.0-preview.9"-> "1.2.0-preview.11",
    "com.unity.collections": "0.1.1-preview" -> ""0.4.0-preview.6",
    "com.unity.formats.fbx": "2.0.2-preview.1",-> "2.0.3-preview.3",
    "com.unity.jobs": "0.1.1-preview", -> "0.2.2-preview.6",
    "com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi": "1.0.2", -> "1.0.4",
    "com.unity.timeline": "1.0.0" -> "1.2.9",
    "com.unity.xr.legacyinputhelpers": "2.0.2",-> "2.0.6",

    EDIT: Sorry, it showed up again after upgrading to 2019.3.0f4.
    Shader::ReloadAllShaders got called, which triggered the error, still can't see the cause from here though.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2020
  24. floky

    floky

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Posts:
    258
    Same here in 2019.3.0f3 every time when opening the project.
     
    P_Jong likes this.
  25. tealm

    tealm

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Same for me in 2019.3.03f3, fresh project - only created some graphs in shadergraph. Deleting Library/ShaderCache removes the errors.
     
    Tanner555 likes this.
  26. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
  27. Paul-Swanson

    Paul-Swanson

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    289
  28. Tanner555

    Tanner555

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    I had the same problem with Unity 2019.3.0f4. The same "Requesting non existent keyword at index" error logs kept popping up, and my editor crashed for the first time sinse I switched to 2019.3. Deleting the Library/ShaderCache folder fixed the issue for me.
     
    iriguchi likes this.
  29. paperplane87

    paperplane87

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Same problem 2019.3.0f5
     
  30. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    215
    I only started getting these guys in 2019.3.0f5. They have no traces or anything so I couldn't really figure out what's causing them.
     
    xdegtyarev likes this.
  31. baumxyz

    baumxyz

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Posts:
    43
    Same problem here with 2019.3.0f5. I get 442 such messages when starting. Starting Unity takes over one minute. Normally it takes a few seconds.
     
  32. rmon222

    rmon222

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Posts:
    67
    Have you deleted your Library/ShaderCache?
     
    baumxyz likes this.
  33. baumxyz

    baumxyz

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Posts:
    43
    Oh, man, that helped, thanks. So is the problem completely gone now?
     
  34. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    We have a fix for this issue in review. Once review passes, it will be brought to 2020.1 and 2019.3.
     
  35. Paul-Swanson

    Paul-Swanson

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    289
    Glad its coming to 2019.3 as well.
     
  36. stonstad

    stonstad

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Posts:
    169
    Confirmed that fix is not in official release 2019.3.0f6.
     
    Lorash and pdinklag like this.
  37. stuffkikker

    stuffkikker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Indeed. I'm using 2019.3.0f6 and just opened my project to 75 "Requesting non existent keyword at index" errors (that weren't there yesterday when opening the project in the same unity version). However: Closing and re-opening the project 'fixed' the issue (errors didn't show up this second time), but something under the hood must still be going wrong. Seems to be in that first startup of the day where a bunch of things have to compile?
     
    Tanner555 and Lorash like this.
  38. Tanner555

    Tanner555

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    I've just noticed this too. I tried deleting the ShaderCache folder in the library folder, and the errors still showed up. Restarting the editor fixed these errors temporarily. I also notice my ram usage in the editor sometimes spikes to over 4GB of usage, even though my project is pretty small. I'm using the Universal Render Pipeline. My project usually only takes up around 1.3GB of ram when open.
    Update:
    It seems like the memory usage goes back to normal after I work with Unity for awhile.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2020
    astracat111 and d_windflow like this.
  39. stonstad

    stonstad

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Posts:
    169
    Deleting the ShaderCache cache folder didn't permanently fix it for me either.
     
    astracat111 likes this.
  40. LukasCh

    LukasCh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    Fix should land in 2020.1.0a23 for the case https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/product/unity/issues/guid/1195767/ and backport to 2019.3 in the queue. This fix is for scenario when local keywords are used with replacement shader in camera. Tehnically this error should not cause any additional issue, except in very rare cases selecting incorrect variant.
     
  41. LukasCh

    LukasCh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    Backport to 2019.3 landed in 2019.3.2f1.
     
    stonstad likes this.
  42. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    215
    3.2? I don't even see 3.1 in the Hub.
     
  43. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    Lorash likes this.
  44. Thygrrr

    Thygrrr

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    131
    I get this from scratch by creating a Universal Render Pipeline project in Unity 2019.3.1.f1
     
    BriDeal and Lorash like this.
  45. Mazak

    Mazak

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Posts:
    222
    I am getting the error today - 2019.3.1.f1
     
  46. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    215
    Guys, that's not surprising at all given the fix is in .2, not .1 :)
     
    dval and LeonhardP like this.
  47. Ghosthowl

    Ghosthowl

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    184
    Having this issue too in 2019.3.1f1. Nice to see Unity find and have a fix coming up in place to solve this. Thanks~
     
  48. rockin

    rockin

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    2019.3.2f1 is out now which should fix this problem (haven't tried myself).
     
  49. Hyp-X

    Hyp-X

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Posts:
    292
    Well 2019.3.2 does NOT fix the problem...
     
  50. N1warhead

    N1warhead

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Posts:
    3,682
    Yeah I just got the problem in 3.2 as well. Indexes - 260, 261, 262, 263, 364, 265, 266,267,268
     
    Immu likes this.
unityunity