Search Unity

  1. Want to see 2020.1b in action? Sign up for our Beta 2020.1 Overview Webinar on April 20th for a live presentation from our evangelists and a Q&A session with guests from R&D.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Interested in giving us feedback? Join our online research interviews on a broad range of topics and share your insights with us.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're hosting a webinar for the new Input System where you'll be able to get in touch with the devs. Sign up now and share your questions with us in preparation for the session on April 15.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice

2019.3.0.f6 No Support to build Android

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by LevonRavel, Feb 4, 2020.

  1. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    If your External tools are not showing the JDK / SDK options, like the below image read this post to fix it. A shout out to Tautvydas-Zilys from Unity Technologies, thank you for helping me get through the issue and many more that might bump into this post.



    You have to copy these files into the <UnityEngineVersion>/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/AndroidPlayer



    Then finally follow these directions.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2020
    volfase likes this.
  2. Eyap

    Eyap

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Posts:
    16
  3. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
  4. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    Yeah I did everything they said in that forum and still nothing its not even showing the JDK or SDK options.
     
  5. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,207
    This doesn't look like SDK issue. Looks like Android module isn't even installed in your editor installation. Does the hub think it's installed?
     
  6. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    I mean the hub shows its there let me get a screenshot of it
    then top it off I followed the guide
    • Moved NDK files directly into the NDK folder
    • chmod -x the OpenJDK
    • Downloaded tools and pushed that inot the SDK folder

    But even then its still messed up not even showing an option to change the SDK, JDK or NDK paths. Its like this for all engines I downloaded everything that was in the hub.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2020
  7. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    I am going to try and install the hub to my main drive I have tried to install it to one of my other internal drives, doubt this is the issue though.
     
  8. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    I might have to switch my OS to Ubuntu I am on Linux Mint Mate.. Not sure if that will make a difference.
     
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,207
    Can you see if you can find "UnityEditor.Android.Extensions.dll" anywhere inside Unity installation folder? That (and other files that end up next to it) should have been put inside "Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer". Perhaps the installer failed.

    By the way, is there any particular reason why your installation path resembles what it would look like on Windows?
     
  10. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    Its just a naming convention, most likely a habit from windows haha.

    Here is how the directory looks like at the root

    and a glimpse of the NDK folder
     
  11. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,207
    Damn, the installer totally messed up! Can you try copying these files into "2019.3.0f6/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/AndroidPlayer" and then restarting the editor? "UnityEditor.Android.Extensions.dll" should end up in "2019.3.0f6/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/AndroidPlayer/UnityEditor.Android.Extensions.dll".

    upload_2020-2-4_14-28-55.png

    We're actually investigating this exact bug.
     
    LevonRavel likes this.
  12. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    Sure, totally cool that I was lucky enough that you guys were investigating it haha.
     
  13. LevonRavel

    LevonRavel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    Well, that did it and im very happy that I can keep Linux Mint. Not sure why it installed to the incorrect area but I am sure happy its working. Thank you Tautvydas-Zilys


     
    Tautvydas-Zilys likes this.
unityunity