Search Unity

2018.3: Assertion failed: TLS Allocator ALLOC_TEMP_THREAD, underlying allocator ALLOC_TEMP_THREAD

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by SupremeEnchanter, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. SupremeEnchanter

    SupremeEnchanter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    186
    .
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019
  2. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    This version of Unity does not exist?
     
  3. BlackPete

    BlackPete

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    969
    March 2018 edition? 2018.3? Where'd you get that from?
     
  4. omerelfassy

    omerelfassy

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Same Error here in Unity 2017.3.0f3
     
    XCO likes this.
  5. SketchWork

    SketchWork

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    208
    Same here with 2017.3.0p1 rolled back to 2017.2.1 and issue went away. Will wait for now and stick to 2017.2.1.

    Merry Christmas :)
     
  6. D3DGames

    D3DGames

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Same here and I'm using 2017.3.0f3. I don't ever recall this happening on previous versions (2017.2.1 and earlier). This happens when I go to build settings and build the iOS project, it shows the assertions a few times and stops during the build process. When I then press the play button in the editor, it constantly shows the same assertions over and over without stopping unless I stop the editor. If I play again, it continues. The only way to get rid of the asserts and not have them show up again in the editor is to close Unity completely and open it again. Not that big of a deal for me, but gets annoying when I have to do this every time I build an iOS project.

    P.S. I'm also using a Windows 10 machine when I build the iOS project.
     
  7. SketchWork

    SketchWork

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    208
    That kinda sucks :( Do you have a link to the bug report?
     
  8. Bilgisoft

    Bilgisoft

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    I solved this error. You must change .net option in player setting .net 3.5 to .net 4.6.
     
  9. Whitebrim

    Whitebrim

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    It didn't help
     
  10. Egil-Sandfeld

    Egil-Sandfeld

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Posts:
    40
    I fixed this issue by deleting the following folders in my project:

    /Library
    /Temp
    /UnityPackageManager

    I restarted, and the error did not spawn any longer.

    Before this, I tried Bilgisoft's solution which did not help.

    **Update**
    Dang, that is, it actually stopped the error as I was running the Windows platform in build settings. Once I switched back to Android, the issue came back.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2018
  11. Dervac

    Dervac

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Same error =(
     
  12. sam_ettinger_sm

    sam_ettinger_sm

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    I'm having the same error. This bug steamrolls my team's continuous-integration system, because even when the project builds successfully, we get this TLS-allocator error and it's reported as a failure.

    Unity devs, PLEASE come up with a fix that isn't just "buy a new subscription 3 months from now"
     
  13. northman

    northman

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    125
    Same problem in Unity 2017.3.1f1(64bit)in April.6. 2018.
     
  14. multimediamarkers

    multimediamarkers

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    23
    Still in version 2018.1 ... and still no fix from Unity!
     
    trappist-1 likes this.
  15. NpXAutobot

    NpXAutobot

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    2018.1.1 sammmmeeeee
     
  16. Peter77

    Peter77

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,753
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2018
  17. Xeyad

    Xeyad

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I restarted Unity and that worked well enough for me, my bug was this ALLOC_TEMP_THREAD has unfreed allocations, size 7020, i think it happened because i was editing a script and i removed a function that was supposed to allocate something and unity couldn't update it self correctly
     
  18. jinhaiyan777

    jinhaiyan777

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    upload_2018-6-20_19-11-11.png
    I am using Unity 2017.2.1 on Windows 10 and I got the same problem. I've had this version of unity for a while now, and it only started giving me this crap when I attempted to make a IEnumerator wait function. What about you guys?

    I'm still relatively inexperienced with unity, am I missing anything?
     
  19. archelyte_vz

    archelyte_vz

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I've actually found the source of this in my project. My project is less than 10,000 lines of code, so isolating the problem was relatively easy.

    For me, this was being caused by a stack overflow at runtime eating up all of the temp memory.

    Steps to resolve:
    1. Locate the script causing the stack overflow
    2. Remedy the problematic line(s)
    3. Restart Unity.
     
  20. unity_YQ1mlry1sg-dyQ

    unity_YQ1mlry1sg-dyQ

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    make sure your aren´t creating an unwanted infinite loop in your code
     
  21. Rizwan31840

    Rizwan31840

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Just Restart Unity
     
  22. CCharles22

    CCharles22

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I removed whatever may have caused that problem to appear in my script because I did not have that issue before as well as I restarted Unity and it was no longer there.
     
  23. Kiziek

    Kiziek

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Worked for me, thx :)
     
  24. trappist-1

    trappist-1

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    456
    Just saw this in 2018.1.0f2
     
  25. pool3

    pool3

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    2017.1.0 also shows this for no apparent reason.
     
  26. lordpooria

    lordpooria

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    thanks worked for me!