Search Unity

  1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

2018.2.0 Beta 2 - Opening script opens new instance of VS on Mac

Discussion in '2018.2 Beta' started by rmb303, Apr 25, 2018.

  1. rmb303

    rmb303

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Posts:
    24
    Whenever I create a new C# script and double click it in the Project pane, it opens another instance of Visual Studio on the Mac.
    Doing this has also caused Unity to freeze on more than one occasion.
    2018.2.0 Beta 1 on the Mac didn't do this.
    I'm using version 7.5 Preview of VS.
     
    luislodosm likes this.
  2. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Could you report a bug on this?
     
  3. Liviuss

    Liviuss

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    I can confirm this (for 2018.2.0b2). For every click on script file, unity keep opening new VS instances.
    I'm using VS 7.4.3(build 10)

    UPDATE: Forgot to mention, at first click, when there is no VS opened, Unity open 2 VS instances.After, Unity open one instance for each click-to-open file.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2018
  4. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,708
    Could you please file a bug report if you're affected by this and reply in here with the case #?
     
  5. Liviuss

    Liviuss

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    Case 1031097
    There is no attached projects because it can be reproduced on newly created empty projects.
     
    DougRichardson and LeonhardP like this.
  6. luislodosm

    luislodosm

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    25
    I confirm the bug: Multiple Visual Studio instances on Mac.
    Unity beta 2018.2.0.b2
    Reported via Unity Bug Reporter.
     
  7. DougRichardson

    DougRichardson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    I still see the problem on Unity beta 2018.2.0b5.

    Is there any workaround for this bug?

    Visual Studio Community 2017 7.5.1 (build 22)
    macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 (17E202)
     
  8. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,708
    We have this fixed internally. The fix will hopefully make it to 2018.2 soon.
     
    Kelbster and DougRichardson like this.
  9. sandboks

    sandboks

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Is there a bug number to track this fix (looking for it now in recent release notes)?

    [edit] I will accept "this is how/where you track bugs for upcoming releases" if there is such a place. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2018
unityunity