Search Unity

Resolved 2 Compile Errors appeared that I cant understand how to solve appeared randomly

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by stakensj, Feb 4, 2022.

  1. stakensj

    stakensj

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Posts:
    35
    Hello! I was downloading
    Unity Particle Pack 5.x
    But after downloading it a lot of errors appeared saying that some dll is missing in some scripts, but dll was right there. I decided to delete the Particle Pack and now there are these errors that I can't do anything to.
    This is my biggest project and I really don't wanna lose it
    Here are the errors:
    https://ibb.co/yVMmnbr
    Please help me. I don't know what to do
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,726
    This implies you are somehow not using source control. STOP NOW AND START USING SOURCE CONTROL! It is February 2022, nobody has to live like this. It's ridiculous.

    I won't even add any more troubleshooting steps because when troubleshooting this kind of random "it just broke" stuff, you HAVE to feel completely comfortable deleting and ripping out huge chunks of your project to isolate the problem, then click to restore it all with proper source control.

    Please consider using proper industrial-grade source control in order to guard and protect your hard-earned work.

    Personally I use git (completely outside of Unity) because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up as well as free places to host your repo (BitBucket, Github, Gitlab, etc.).

    You can also push git repositories to other drives: thumb drives, USB drives, network drives, etc., effectively putting a complete copy of the repository there.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    Here's how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up an appropriate .gitignore file for Unity3D:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally setting Unity up (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity

    It is only simple economics that you must expend as much effort into backing it up as you feel the work is worth in the first place.

    "Use source control or you will be really sad sooner or later." - StarManta on the Unity3D forum boards
     
  3. Quote from the asset store page:
    Are you sure your Unity version is 5.5?
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  4. stakensj

    stakensj

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Posts:
    35
    Oh frick I did not read that
     
  5. stakensj

    stakensj

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Posts:
    35
    Does it mean I need to enable source control? Because I don't really know what it is and by looking at the unity documentation it appears I do not have it. Can you please explain what EXACTLY do I have to do I am just very new and I dont understand much about unity. Or do I just need to backup it and delete chunks of it till the problem is gone?
     
  6. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,726
    There's no way I could do better than the thousands of existing tutorials out there already. Like anything you have to start using it to learn it.

    You're welcome to work that way too. Just remember you are essentially using stone-age tools when there are far better tools out there... they just need to be learned.

    At the end of the day it's your life, your time, your code. Spend as much effort as you think is reasonable. Just know that these problems have been well solved.
     
  7. stakensj

    stakensj

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Posts:
    35

    I FIXED IT! So uuuuh apparently the problem was that the postprocessing assets were in preview mode, So the only thing I had to do was update them! AND BOOM no more errors. Anyways thank you SOOOO much for doing that much to make sure that I won't lose my work. It means a lot to me!
    Best Regards Jstakens