Search Unity

2.5D Movement on one axis at a time

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by czokka, Apr 8, 2017.

1. czokka

czokka

Hi guys.

Sorry for all the mistakes this is my first post and pretty new to this whole thing so any constructive criticism is very welcomed.

I'm a student and currently working on a 2.5D game using a 2d character (assignment requirement) in a 3d environment. However for now im just using a cube as the player. Because i do not have time to animate a full turn around I have to restrict my movement to one axis at a time.

This is what I currently have. Full and free movement. And the axis lined on the joystick as default.
    Orange representing my range of movement and red the axis.
    current.jpg
    current gif optimised.gif

But my desired effect would be closer to a controls that is restricted to move on only one axis at a time. Moreover and a sightly different part of my question is also rotating the controller joystick axis by 45 degrees so that it sits intuitively for the players movement as represented on the screen. For example if i push the joystick into the upper right corner my character will begin moving on the x axis in the + direction, and if i pull the joystick to the bottom left quarter the character moves on the x-
    desired.jpg
    desired gif optimised.gif

I have a very basic grasp of C# as we only started working with it this year in college. The solutions i have tried so far are constraining the rigid body with little success. Im sorry if this sounds like a "do this for me" but im very stuck and desperate. Im looking for anyone who can explain to me how i can tackle this in a logical way or point me in the right direction is all. Cheers in advance.

Below i included my movement controller

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class MovementController : MonoBehaviour {
    7.     public float speed = 6.0F;