Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

.19a DataWatchService

Discussion in '2021.2 Beta' started by broots, Jun 4, 2021.

  1. broots

    broots

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Posts:
    54
    Heya,

    It looks like unity has deprecated DataWatchService, however it's generating a hard error in .19a that stops projects with it from compiling. This is a problem because some unity packages, like Graph Foundation, are being distributed with a dependency on DataWatchService, thus preventing any projects with these packages from compiling.

    For reference, see the error
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Library\PackageCache\com.unity.graphtools.foundation@0.9.2-preview\Editor\Overdrive\InternalBridge\GraphViewStaticBridge.cs(91,13): error CS0619: 'DataWatchService' is obsolete: 'IDataWatchService is no longer supported and will be removed soon'
    upload_2021-6-4_3-16-19.png

    This probably should be a warning right now as there's no way for end users to fix this problem, simply forcing the downgrade. Is their a workaround to be able to modify the package so that I can actually compile the project?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    445
    Compiles fine for me. Maybe because I've deleted some default packages that always was there but had with no use for me (deletion was not that smooth but I've managed to fix console errors after that quickly).
     

    Attached Files:

  3. broots

    broots

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Posts:
    54
    I don't see graph foundation among your packages?
     
  4. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    445
    Sorry, didn't read your message fully >_<.
     
  5. patrickf

    patrickf

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Posts:
    57
    2021.2 is not officially supported by GTF. Our current supported version is 2020.3
     
  6. thierry_unity

    thierry_unity

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Hi, do you mind pasting your full manifest.json here?
     
  7. broots

    broots

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Posts:
    54
    Sure thing


    Code (JavaScript):
    1. "dependencies": {
    2.     "com.unity.2d.animation": "6.0.3",
    3.     "com.unity.2d.pixel-perfect": "5.0.0",
    4.     "com.unity.2d.psdimporter": "5.0.3",
    5.     "com.unity.2d.sprite": "1.0.0",
    6.     "com.unity.2d.spriteshape": "6.0.0",
    7.     "com.unity.2d.tilemap": "1.0.0",
    8.     "com.unity.collab-proxy": "1.5.7",
    9.     "com.unity.graphtools.foundation": "0.9.2-preview",
    10.     "com.unity.ide.rider": "3.0.7",
    11.     "com.unity.test-framework": "1.1.26",
    12.     "com.unity.textmeshpro": "3.0.6",
    13.     "com.unity.timeline": "1.6.0-pre.5",
    14.     "com.unity.ugui": "1.0.0",
    15.     "com.unity.visualscripting": "1.7.1",
    16.     "com.unity.modules.ai": "1.0.0",
    17.     "com.unity.modules.androidjni": "1.0.0",
    18.     "com.unity.modules.animation": "1.0.0",
    19.     "com.unity.modules.assetbundle": "1.0.0",
    20.     "com.unity.modules.audio": "1.0.0",
    21.     "com.unity.modules.cloth": "1.0.0",
    22.     "com.unity.modules.director": "1.0.0",
    23.     "com.unity.modules.imageconversion": "1.0.0",
    24.     "com.unity.modules.imgui": "1.0.0",
    25.     "com.unity.modules.jsonserialize": "1.0.0",
    26.     "com.unity.modules.nvidia": "1.0.0",
    27.     "com.unity.modules.particlesystem": "1.0.0",
    28.     "com.unity.modules.physics": "1.0.0",
    29.     "com.unity.modules.physics2d": "1.0.0",
    30.     "com.unity.modules.screencapture": "1.0.0",
    31.     "com.unity.modules.terrain": "1.0.0",
    32.     "com.unity.modules.terrainphysics": "1.0.0",
    33.     "com.unity.modules.tilemap": "1.0.0",
    34.     "com.unity.modules.ui": "1.0.0",
    35.     "com.unity.modules.uielements": "1.0.0",
    36.     "com.unity.modules.umbra": "1.0.0",
    37.     "com.unity.modules.unityanalytics": "1.0.0",
    38.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequest": "1.0.0",
    39.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestassetbundle": "1.0.0",
    40.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestaudio": "1.0.0",
    41.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequesttexture": "1.0.0",
    42.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestwww": "1.0.0",
    43.     "com.unity.modules.vehicles": "1.0.0",
    44.     "com.unity.modules.video": "1.0.0",
    45.     "com.unity.modules.vr": "1.0.0",
    46.     "com.unity.modules.wind": "1.0.0",
    47.     "com.unity.modules.xr": "1.0.0"
    48.   }
     
  8. thierry_unity

    thierry_unity

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Is there a reason why you have Graphtools foundation in that manifest? I don see any other package that needs it.
     
  9. broots

    broots

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Posts:
    54
    Yeah, I have a custom visual scripting compiler built on top of it. (Graph foundation is super sweet, great package) My current project is using this as the main control flow back-end.

    If it's not supported for alpha versions, I totally get that. I'll continue to use .17a -- just seemed like this was an oversight having the deprecating message be a hard error and not a warning.
     
  10. thierry_unity

    thierry_unity

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    yes, unfortunately it is not supported at the moment, we were a bit detached from the official editor roadmap being a preview package. but our goal is to be the framework used by other features in the future so stay tuned :)
     
    BigRookGames, broots and mariandev like this.
  11. bradshep

    bradshep

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    Any update on this or ETA when GraphTools is going to be compatible with the latest beta? Stuck on a17 because of a similar error when using the Animation package.
     
    optimage and BigRookGames like this.
  12. optimage

    optimage

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    I second this. Adding the DOTS animation package produces this error.
     
    progara and BigRookGames like this.
  13. BigRookGames

    BigRookGames

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    I would also appreciate any updates regarding this.
     
  14. bradshep

    bradshep

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    I ended up deleting the Editor folders of the packages that were throwing errors and haven't had any issues since.
     
  15. NT_Ninetails

    NT_Ninetails

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Posts:
    196
    how did you pull this off? whenever I delete or edit the package contents, my changes are deleted and the package is restored with the error.
     
  16. bradshep

    bradshep

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    Copy the package folder from the Library/PackageCache into the Packages folder and then make edits.
     
    NT_Ninetails likes this.
  17. Endlesser

    Endlesser

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    89
    Hi, deleting cause the Animation 0.9.0 package out of work and plenty of errors, is anim pack still working for you?
     
  18. bradshep

    bradshep

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    Not sure what errors you're experiencing, but I deleted the Editor folder in the Animation package (0.9.0-preview 6) and was able to get my project working. I only use the animation package for animation curve in jobs, so it might be that my solution does not work for your project.