Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

0.2.0-preview.13

Discussion in 'Data Oriented Technology Stack' started by snacktime, Nov 22, 2019.

  1. mpforce1

    mpforce1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    I'm having this same issue, however I get the same error even when using the new BuildSettings asset. Does anybody know what the cause of this is and/or what should be included in BuildSettings to fix it?
     
  2. Creepgin

    Creepgin

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    Can you screenshot your BuildSettings? I just double-checked again and everything still seem to be working fine on my side.

    Make sure you have "Classic Scripting Settings" in there as it's not included by default.
     
  3. mpforce1

    mpforce1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    34
     
  4. Creepgin

    Creepgin

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    The only noticeable differences I have is that I'm using the default Hybrid BuildPipeline that came with Entities package, and I'm using IL2CPP.
     
  5. Litovets

    Litovets

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    20
    First time made a build with my own systems which are starting manually for Android and systems don't work.
    In logs I see that World.DefaultGameObjectInjectionWorld is null, so I decided to take first world in World.AllWorlds collection. This first world is "Default World" but this approach also doesn't work because EntityManager is null. Can anyone help me figure out why it doesn't work? In Editor everything work fine. Thanks!
     
  6. mpforce1

    mpforce1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Hey, I still get the same error even when using the default pipeline and using IL2CPP. Thanks for trying though.

    Edit:
    I eventually managed to get the build to work by enabling AOT. I couldn't get it to work with AOT disabled.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2019
  7. Litovets

    Litovets

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    20
    Can anyone explain me what I'm doing wrong?
     
  8. ju_my

    ju_my

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    I keep using World.Active and it's working fine for me, i had same issue as u, no explanation found.
     
    Litovets likes this.
  9. Enzi

    Enzi

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Posts:
    335
    Is it possible it's running to soon? Seems like you want access when it's not created yet. Otherwise I'm really not sure what's happening. Never had that kind of problem.
     
  10. Nothke

    Nothke

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    108
    Ummm, what's happening with light components? I wanted to update all packages but light components are now missing from Hybrid Renderer package. Are they a part of another package now? I don't see any. I am heavily using light components in my DOTS project.

    Edit: I noticed this note in the changelog
    "Will be replaced" so I imagine it's not available yet? If so, why then remove the entire feature before a replacement is not available?

    But what about outside of the system? I'm getting an EntityManager in a MonoBehaviour for spawning entities through World.Active.EntityManager, should one use World.DefaultGameObjectInjectionWorld.EntityManager for that instead?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2019
  11. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,044
    Yes.

    >"Will be replaced" so I imagine it's not available yet? If so, why then remove the entire feature before a replacement is >not available?
    Because there was no reasonable way of maintaining the functionality the way it was built, so we had to take it out, until we have a solution that works.
     
  12. Litovets

    Litovets

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    20
    Found the problem - the exception during launch if Burst Compilation is disabled:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. 12-05 11:18:28.487 28841 28860 E Unity   : Unable to find _burst_generated
    2. 12-05 11:18:28.727 28841 28860 E Unity   : InvalidOperationException: Burst failed to compile the function pointer `Void AddComponentEntitiesBatchExecute(Unity.Entities.EntityComponentStore*, Unity.Collections.LowLevel.Unsafe.UnsafeList*, Int32)`
    3. 12-05 11:18:28.727 28841 28860 E Unity   :   at Unity.Burst.BurstCompiler.Compile[T] (T delegateObj, System.Boolean isFunctionPointer) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0
    4. 12-05 11:18:28.727 28841 28860 E Unity   :   at Unity.Entities.StructuralChange.Initialize () [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0
    5. 12-05 11:18:28.727 28841 28860 E Unity   :   at Unity.Entities.EntityManager..ctor (Unity.Entities.World world) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0
    6. 12-05 11:18:28.727 28841 28860 E Unity   :   at Unity.Entities.World..ctor (System.String name) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0
    7. 12-05 11:18:28.727 28841 28860 E Unity   :   at Unity.Entities.DefaultWorldInitialization.Initialize (System.String defaultWorldName, System.Boolean editorWorld) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0
    Now Addressables doesn't work :)
     
unityunity